BPC-157: the monograph
Also known as: BPC-157, BPC 157, bpc157, body protection compound, body protection compound 157, body protective compound-157, pentadecapeptide BPC 157, Bepecin, PL 14736, PL-10, PLD-116, PCO-02, wolverine peptide
What is BPC-157?
BPC-157 is a synthetic chain of 15 amino acids (sequence GEPPPGKPADDAGLV, molecular weight 1419.5 Da) 39,1. It reproduces a fragment of a larger protein called BPC that researchers reported isolating from human gastric juice, and it was first characterized in the scientific literature in 1993 24.
The compound went into corporate drug development in Croatia in the 1990s under the codes PL-10, PLD-116, and PL 14736 (Pliva), aimed at inflammatory bowel disease 25. That program never produced a published efficacy trial or an approved drug, and no medicines agency anywhere has approved BPC-157 for any use 37,32. Today it circulates as a gray-market vial and capsule product marketed with claims that run far ahead of its evidence.
This monograph grades every claim by the species it was tested in. The one-sentence version of three decades of research: a large body of rodent and laboratory findings, three small uncontrolled human pilot studies, and zero published randomized human trials 31,32.
Key facts at a glance
Every chip below carries an evidence grade. Animal means rodent or rabbit data; in vitro means cell or tissue experiments; regulatory means an FDA, WADA, or registry record. None of these facts is supported by a completed randomized human trial.
Regulatory status: FDA, compounding, and sport
BPC-157 is not FDA approved. It is sold for research use; no human efficacy has been established. A search of FDA's approved-drug database returns no BPC-157 product in any form 37.
FDA has gone further than silence. Its compounding safety list states that compounded BPC-157 drugs "may pose risk for immunogenicity for certain routes of administration and may have complexities with regard to peptide-related impurities and active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) characterization," and that the agency "lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm when administered to humans" 34. On July 23, 2026, FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee reviewed BPC-157 (free base and acetate), nominated for ulcerative colitis; both nominations had been withdrawn by their nominators, but FDA elected to proceed, and its briefing document proposed that neither form be included on the 503A Bulks List, the list of substances pharmacies may legally compound 35,36. The committee's advice is non-binding and rulemaking is pending, but the direction of FDA's own evaluation is on the record.
In sport, BPC-157 is explicitly named on the 2026 WADA Prohibited List under S0 (Non-Approved Substances), prohibited at all times, in and out of competition 43. USADA repeats this in plain language: BPC-157 is prohibited under the S0 category 44. Some published reviews state incorrectly that BPC-157 is no longer WADA-listed; the current list itself is the controlling document, and it names BPC-157.
Proposed mechanisms (all preclinical)
Mechanism work comes from animal and cell studies, not human tissue. The best-replicated threads: BPC-157 increased expression and internalization of the VEGFR2 receptor and activated the VEGFR2-Akt-eNOS signaling pathway in vascular endothelial cells, and raised vessel density in chick membrane and tube-formation assays; the same paper reported faster blood-flow recovery in rat hind-limb ischemia 20. In rat tendon fibroblasts it accelerated cell spreading and migration through FAK-paxillin phosphorylation 4 and upregulated growth hormone receptor expression at mRNA and protein level 5.
The originating research group also reports interactions with the nitric oxide system, early growth response gene 1 (egr-1) expression, and dopamine and serotonin systems across many rat models 25,28. Independent reviewers describe these pathways as plausible but note the mechanism has not been confirmed in any human study 31,29.
What the research shows, by species
The table below is the core of this monograph: 23 primary research entries, each with the species or model, the reported dose and route, the duration, and the outcome as stated in the fetched source. The census: 15 rows in rats, 2 in mice, 1 in rabbits, 1 pharmacokinetic study in rats and dogs, 2 in vitro, 1 combined rat and human-cell study, and exactly 1 human entry, an uncontrolled retrospective case series 23. Zero rows are randomized human trials.
For calibration: a 2025 systematic review by an independent orthopaedic group screened 544 BPC-157 articles and found that only 36 met inclusion criteria, of which 35 were preclinical and exactly 1 was clinical 30. An independent 2019 review noted that the majority of studies used small rodent models and that only a handful of research groups have performed in-depth work on this peptide 29. Consistently positive results reported mostly by one laboratory group, with limited independent replication, is a weaker evidence base than the raw study count suggests; the head-to-head study in 2026 by an unrelated group is a welcome exception 11.
Tendon, ligament, muscle, and bone findings (animal)
This is the research base behind the compound's reputation, and it is rodent and rabbit work. In rats with a transected Achilles tendon, daily BPC-157 (10 ug, 10 ng, or 10 pg per kg, intraperitoneal) was associated with higher load to failure, better Achilles functional index scores, and restored tendon integrity versus saline 1. After surgical detachment of the Achilles from the calcaneus, it improved tendon-to-bone reattachment measures and counteracted the aggravation caused by the corticosteroid 6alpha-methylprednisolone 2; a 72-rat study reported improved early functional recovery with reduced myeloperoxidase activity and more new vessel formation 3. In the rat medial collateral ligament model, improvement was reported with intraperitoneal, topical cream, and per-oral dosing (0.16 ug per mL of drinking water) 6. Transected quadriceps muscle showed improved biomechanics and walking recovery over 72 days 7, crush-injured gastrocnemius improved macroscopically, microscopically, functionally, and by muscle enzyme markers 8, and corticosteroid-impaired muscle repair was restored 9. In rabbits, a segmental radius defect showed improved bone filling comparable to bone marrow or autologous cortical graft in several measures 10.
The single head-to-head peptide comparison, from an independent Turkish group in 2026: in 32 rats with Achilles transection, both BPC-157 (10 ug/kg/day) and TB-500 (60 ug/kg/day) were associated with better tendon architecture than controls, but only TB-500 reached statistical significance on maximum load to failure and total histology scores; BPC-157 trended lower without reaching significance on total scores, and combining the two added nothing 11. One rat study is not a verdict, but it is a useful antidote to marketing that presents BPC-157 as uniformly superior.
None of these outcomes has been tested in a published randomized human trial. The first attempt, a 120-participant phase 2 hamstring-strain trial, began recruiting in 2026 40.
Gastrointestinal findings (animal) and the IBD trial history
BPC-157 began as a gastric-protection candidate, and the GI animal literature is broad. An independent Parke-Davis team reported in 1995 that intraperitoneal BPC-15 dose-dependently reduced TNBS-induced colonic damage and myeloperoxidase activity in rats, while a single intracolonic dose did not 12. The Zagreb group reported reduced gastric and intestinal lesions from indomethacin, aspirin, and diclofenac in rats, plus attenuated adjuvant arthritis 13, and frames BPC-157 broadly as counteracting NSAID toxicity across stomach, intestine, liver, and brain models 26.
The human trail is thinner than the marketing implies. Group reviews state that BPC-157 (as PL 14736) was tested in a phase II clinical program for inflammatory bowel disease and describe it as safe in those trials, with LD1 not achieved in toxicology 25; later reviews also mention ulcerative colitis and multiple sclerosis trials 27. No results from any of those trials have ever been published in peer-reviewed form, and a 2026 independent review concluded there is no completed phase II clinical trial 32. FDA's July 2026 compounding review of BPC-157 evaluated it specifically for ulcerative colitis and still proposed against listing it 35,36.
Nervous system, cornea, vessels, skin, and other models (animal)
Beyond muscle and gut, rat and mouse models report: improved motor recovery and counteracted spinal cord changes after compression injury in rats 17; faster axonal regeneration and improved walking indices after sciatic nerve transection 18; closure of perforating corneal incisions with eye drops, with recovered corneal transparency 19; attenuated brain lesions and better early outcomes after traumatic brain injury in mice 16; reduced bleeding time and smaller platelet-count falls after amputation in rats given heparin, warfarin, or aspirin 21; improved skin repair in corticosteroid-impaired burned mice with a topical cream 14; and dose-dependent acceleration of excisional wound closure in hyperglycemic rats, comparable at top doses to becaplermin gel, in a study by PLIVA's own research institute 15.
The breadth is real, and so is the pattern: nearly every model, nearly every organ, nearly always a positive result. Independent reviewers read that uniformity as a reason for more rigorous confirmation, not less 29,31.
Human evidence: what exists and what does not
No adequately powered randomized controlled trial of BPC-157 has been published for any indication as of August 2026. Total published human exposure across all studies is fewer than 30 subjects, in three uncontrolled pilot studies 32. That is the entire human efficacy record.
What the three pilots are: (1) a retrospective, uncontrolled phone-survey case series of intra-articular knee injections at a Florida clinic, 16 patients reached, in which 11 of 12 who got BPC-157 alone reported significant pain improvement and 14 of 16 overall reported relief; no imaging, no standardized instruments, no control group 23; a 2025 systematic review reads the same data as 7 of 12 reporting relief lasting over six months 30; (2) an interstitial cystitis pilot; and (3) an intravenous safety and pharmacokinetics pilot, reported with two subjects in the PK literature 31,32.
Registry records add context but no results: a randomized phase 1 safety study of BPC-157 (as PCO-02) in 42 healthy volunteers was registered in 2015 and its status is now listed as unknown, with no posted results 41; a single-arm 40-person study of an oral BPC-157 gummy (500 ug per serving) completed in 2026 with no published results 42; and the first randomized, quadruple-masked phase 2 trial, BPC-157 for acute grade II hamstring strain with MRI-verified endpoints, target n=120, is recruiting as of 2026 40. Until that class of trial reads out, every efficacy claim about BPC-157 in humans is an extrapolation from rodents.
Pharmacokinetics: mostly animal, honestly limited
There is no adequately characterized human pharmacokinetic study of BPC-157. The best PK data are preclinical: a 2022 ADME study in rats and beagle dogs found an elimination half-life under 30 minutes, linear kinetics across doses, intramuscular bioavailability of roughly 14-19% in rats and 45-51% in dogs, metabolism into small peptide fragments and then single amino acids, and excretion mainly via urine and bile 22. A 2026 biopharmaceutics review adds that a preliminary two-subject human intravenous pilot echoed the sub-30-minute half-life 32.
Two honest oddities. First, the PK-PD disconnect: a plasma half-life under 30 minutes sits awkwardly against biological effects reported to last hours to days in animal models, and no one has a validated explanation 32. Second, oral exposure: BPC-157 is repeatedly described as unusually stable in gastric juice 25,32, and oral dosing was active in rodent GI and ligament models 6,28, but systemic oral bioavailability in humans has never been measured, and the peptide lacks basic permeability characterization 32.
Forms and routes: what exists and what was actually studied
The gray market sells lyophilized vials for injection, oral capsules, and lately branded gummies 42. The research literature used different routes for different questions: intraperitoneal injection dominates the musculoskeletal work 1,7; per-oral dosing (in drinking water) was reported active in ligament and GI models 6,28; topical creams were used in burn and muscle models 14,8; eye drops in the corneal model 19; and the human knee series used intra-articular injection 23.
No route has established human efficacy, and no pharmaceutical-grade formulation exists for any route 32. FDA's immunogenicity concern is explicitly tied to certain routes of administration of compounded BPC-157 34. See the injectable-versus-oral comparison table for the route-by-route evidence.
Doses used in research (no established human dose)
There is no established human dose of BPC-157. No dose-finding study in humans has ever been published 32. What exists are animal study doses: the originating group's standard regimens are 10 ug/kg and 10 ng/kg body weight, usually intraperitoneal, once daily 1,2; the ligament study added per-oral dosing at 0.16 ug/mL drinking water and topical 1 ug/g cream 6; the 2026 head-to-head study used 10 ug/kg/day intraperitoneally for four weeks 11; the rabbit bone study used 10 ug/kg locally or intramuscularly 10.
Simple arithmetic shows why animal-to-human dose translation here is guesswork: nobody has published what a rodent intraperitoneal microgram-per-kilogram regimen corresponds to in a human by any route, because human bioavailability was never measured 32. The doses printed on gray-market vials and forum protocols are not derived from any published human study. Our dosing tools therefore do reconstitution arithmetic only, and label study doses by species.
Safety: what animal data show and what nobody has assessed
What is reported: the originating group states no toxicity was observed in animal work and that an LD1 could not be reached, and describes the compound as safe in its (unpublished) IBD trials 25. The 2025 systematic review found no adverse effects in preclinical safety studies and no adverse events in the small human pilots, and then stated the load-bearing fact plainly: no clinical safety data were found 30,31.
What nobody has assessed: immunogenicity. FDA's stated concern is that compounded BPC-157 may pose immunogenicity risk for certain routes and carries peptide-impurity and API-characterization complexities, and that the agency lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm when administered to humans 34. Absence of reported harm in rodents and in fewer than 30 pilot subjects is not human safety evidence.
The practical risk on top of the biological unknowns is sourcing: BPC-157 reaches users through unregulated channels, and the systematic review flags unregulated manufacturing and contamination as real adverse-effect pathways 30. There is no USP monograph, no pharmaceutical-grade formulation, and no validated quality standard for the vials actually being sold 32.
Interactions and who has not been studied
Formal interaction studies do not exist. The animal literature reports interactions with the nitric oxide system (L-arginine and L-NAME modified its effects in rat models) 26, counteraction of corticosteroid-impaired repair 2,9, and altered bleeding parameters alongside heparin, warfarin, and aspirin in rats 21. None of this has been characterized in humans.
Who has not been studied: pregnant or breastfeeding people, children, people with cancer or a cancer history (relevant because the proposed mechanism is pro-angiogenic 20), people on anticoagulants, and people with immune conditions. That is not a list of established risks; it is a list of populations with zero data, plus FDA's unassessed-immunogenicity flag 34. Tested athletes are a special case: any use violates WADA rules regardless of safety 43.
Stability and formulation status
The one well-documented stability property is chemical: BPC-157 is repeatedly described as stable in gastric juice, unusual for a peptide 25,32. Beyond that, formulation science is missing: a 2026 review found no pharmaceutical-grade formulation has been developed or validated for any route, no BCS classification data, and no formal excipient compatibility studies 32.
Practical consequence: there is no validated storage or reconstitution standard for the research-market vials being sold. Handling practices circulating online are lab convention, not tested product science, and FDA's impurity and API-characterization concerns apply directly to this unregulated supply 34.
Study results
| Study | Species / model | n | Duration | Outcome | Effect size |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S1 Animal10 ug, 10 ng, or 10 pg/kg i.p., once daily | rat (Transected Achilles tendon; plus cultured tendocytes) | not stated in abstract | 14 days | Higher load to failure and Young's modulus, better Achilles functional index, smaller tendon defect vs saline; in culture, opposed the growth-inhibiting aldehyde HNE | Direction and significance as reported in abstract; no numeric effect sizes given |
| S2 Animal10 ug, 10 ng, or 10 pg/kg i.p., once daily | rat (Achilles detachment from calcaneus; with and without 6alpha-methylprednisolone) | not stated in abstract | 21 days | Improved functional index, load to failure, stiffness, collagen organization; reduced the corticosteroid's aggravation of repair | Reported as significant on biomechanical measures; no numerics in abstract |
| S3 Animal10 ug/kg i.p., once daily | rat (Achilles-to-bone transection, early recovery) | 72 | 4 days | Achilles functional index higher at all time points (p<0.05); lower myeloperoxidase activity; higher vascular index vs saline; methylprednisolone comparison arm did not improve function | p<0.05 on AFI, MPO, vascular index (per abstract) |
| S4 In vitroBPC-157 in culture medium, dose-dependent | in vitro (Tendon fibroblast outgrowth, survival, migration (cells from rat Achilles)) | cell culture (no animal n) | assay timescales | Accelerated explant outgrowth, increased cell survival under H2O2 stress, dose-dependent migration and spreading via FAK-paxillin phosphorylation; no direct effect on proliferation | Dose-dependent, reported significant; assay-level data |
| S5 In vitro [record]BPC-157 in culture medium, dose- and time-dependent | in vitro (Growth hormone receptor expression in rat tendon fibroblasts) | cell culture (no animal n) | assay timescales | Dose- and time-dependent increase in growth hormone receptor mRNA and protein; growth hormone then increased proliferation of BPC-157-exposed cells via JAK2 | Dose- and time-dependent (microarray, PCR, Western blot) |
| S6 Animal10 ug or 10 ng/kg i.p.; 0.16 ug/mL drinking water; 1 ug/g topical cream | rat (Transected medial collateral ligament) | not stated in abstract | 90 days | Consistent functional, biomechanical, macroscopic and histological improvement by all three routes vs controls | Direction as reported; no numerics in abstract |
| S7 Animal10 ug, 10 ng, or 10 pg/kg i.p., once daily | rat (Complete quadriceps transection) | not stated in abstract | 72 days | Higher load of failure, walking recovery and motor function index toward normal, muscle-fiber continuity, attenuated atrophy vs controls | Direction as reported across biomechanical, functional, histological measures |
| S8 Animali.p. or topical cream, immediately and once daily | rat (Gastrocnemius crush injury (0.727 Ns/cm2)) | not stated in abstract | 14 days | Less hematoma and edema, no post-injury contracture, improved function and muscle enzyme profile (CK, LDH, AST, ALT) vs controls | Direction as reported; no numerics in abstract |
| S9 Animali.p. or topical cream, once daily | rat (Gastrocnemius crush with systemic 6alpha-methylprednisolone impairment) | not stated in abstract | 14 days | Faster functional restoration and improved repair despite corticosteroid, shown functionally, macroscopically, histologically at all intervals | Direction as reported at all assessment points |
| S10 Animal10 ug/kg locally into defect, or 10 ug or 10 ng/kg i.m. (intermittent or daily) | rabbit (Segmental osteoperiosteal radius defect (0.8 cm)) | not stated in abstract | 6 weeks | Significantly improved defect filling; radiographic and histomorphometric results comparable to bone marrow or autologous cortical graft; more animals with complete bony continuity | Reported significant; comparable to graft comparators |
| S11 AnimalBPC-157 10 ug/kg/day i.p.; TB-500 60 ug/kg/day i.p. | rat (Achilles transection and repair; control vs BPC-157 vs TB-500 vs both) | 32 (8 per group) | 4 weeks | Both peptides associated with better tendon architecture vs control; TB-500 reached significance on maximum load to failure (p<0.05) and Bonar/Movin scores; BPC-157 numerically better without reaching significance on total scores; combination added no benefit | TB-500: p<0.05 load to failure, p=0.016 Bonar, p=0.017 Movin; BPC-157: NS on total scores |
| S12 Animal0.0001 to 10 nmol/kg i.p.; 10 nmol/kg intracolonic | rat (TNBS-induced colonic damage (independent lab: Parke-Davis)) | not stated in abstract | 3 days | i.p. dosing significantly and dose-dependently reduced colonic necrosis area and myeloperoxidase activity; the intracolonic route did not | Statistically significant, dose-dependent (per abstract) |
| S13 Animal10 ug or 10 ng/kg i.p. | rat (Indomethacin, aspirin, diclofenac GI lesions; Freund's adjuvant arthritis) | not stated in abstract | 14 days to 1 year (arthritis arms) | Consistently reduced gastric and small-intestine lesions from three NSAIDs; attenuated adjuvant arthritis development and established disease | Direction as reported; no numerics in abstract |
| S14 Animaltopical BPC-157 cream, three strengths, once daily | mouse (Deep partial-thickness burns with corticosteroid impairment; topical cream) | not stated in abstract | 21 days | Improved burn repair by microscopy and tensiometry; counteracted 6alpha-methylprednisolone impairment; spleen-cell reactivity returned to control values | Direction as reported; no numerics in abstract |
| S15 Animaltopical gel, 10-1000 ug/wound | rat (Full-thickness excisional wounds in alloxan-hyperglycemic rats (PLIVA institute; becaplermin comparator)) | not stated in abstract | 7 days | Dose-dependent acceleration of wound closure by macroscopic score, equivalent at highest doses to becaplermin gel; more organized granulation tissue | Dose-dependent; top dose equivalent to becaplermin (per abstract) |
| S16 Animal10 ug or 10 ng/kg i.p., prophylactic or immediately pre-injury | mouse (Falling-weight traumatic brain injury) | not stated in abstract | 24 h | Attenuated hemorrhage and brain edema, improved conscious/unconscious/death ratio across graded force impulses, minimal postponed mortality | Effect across force range 0.068-0.145 Ns both doses; 0.159 Ns higher dose only |
| S17 Animal [record]200 or 2 ug/kg i.p., single dose 10 min post-injury | rat (Sacrocaudal compression injury (laminectomy L2-L3, 60 s piston)) | not stated in abstract | up to 360 days | Better tail motor function, resolved spasticity by day 15, no autotomy; counteracted axon loss, edema, motoneuron loss; better EMG profile vs saline | Direction as reported across time points; no numerics in abstract |
| S18 Animal10 ug or 10 ng/kg, i.p., intragastric, or local | rat (Sciatic nerve transection (anastomosis or tube resection)) | not stated in abstract | 1-2 months | Faster axonal regeneration by histomorphometry, higher motor action potentials, improved sciatic functional index, autotomy absent | Direction as reported; no numerics in abstract |
| S19 Animal2 ug/mL or 2 ng/mL drops every 8 h | rat (Perforating 2-mm corneal incision; eye drops) | not stated in abstract | 120 h | Epithelial defects closed by 72 h (2 ug) and 96 h (2 ng); fluorescein and Seidel tests negative from 24 h; corneal transparency regained; no vessel ingrowth to the wound | Complete closure at stated time points vs poor closure in controls |
| S20 Animal and in vitronot stated in abstract | rat and in vitro (human endothelial cells) (Hind-limb ischemia (rat) plus HUVEC tube formation and CAM assay) | not stated in abstract | assay timescales | Higher vessel density in CAM and tube-formation assays; faster blood-flow recovery in rat ischemic hind limb; increased VEGFR2 expression and internalization; VEGFR2-Akt-eNOS activation, blocked by dynasore | Direction as reported across assays; no numerics in abstract |
| S21 Animal10 ug or 10 ng/kg, route matched to challenge (i.v., i.p., i.g.) | rat (Tail amputation with heparin, warfarin, or aspirin) | not stated in abstract | acute | Shorter bleeding time, less blood loss, smaller platelet-count fall with each anticoagulant; longer survival in a heparin amputation arm; anti-Xa activity unaffected | Direction as reported; APTT/TT attenuation in 10 mg/kg heparin arm |
| S22 Animal PK [record]single IV; single and repeated IM at three dose levels | rat and dog (IV and IM dosing with radiolabel tracing) | not stated in abstract | ADME study | Elimination half-life under 30 minutes; linear kinetics; IM bioavailability about 14-19% (rat) and 45-51% (dog); metabolized to peptide fragments then amino acids; excreted via urine and bile | t1/2 <30 min; F(IM) 14-19% rat, 45-51% dog |
| S23 Uncontrolled human seriesintra-articular injection; dose not stated in abstract | human (Retrospective uncontrolled case series, intra-articular injection, phone follow-up (single clinic)) | 16 reached (of 17 charts) | follow-up 6-12 months post-injection | 11 of 12 who received BPC-157 alone reported significant pain improvement; 14 of 16 overall reported relief (with 4 also receiving TB4); no control group, no standardized instruments, no imaging; a 2025 systematic review reads this as 7 of 12 with relief lasting over 6 months | Self-reported; 91.6% (11/12) BPC-only responders per abstract |
What we do not know yet
What we do not know about BPC-157 outweighs what we know, and this section is the honest core of the monograph. (1) No adequately powered randomized human trial has been published for any indication; total published human exposure is under 30 subjects across three uncontrolled pilots 32,31. (2) The developer's inflammatory bowel disease program is described in group reviews as reaching phase II, yet no trial results were ever published, and a 2026 independent review found no completed phase II trial; a 2015 phase 1 registration sits at status unknown with nothing posted 25,32,41. (3) Most of the animal literature comes from a small number of groups, with the majority of studies in small rodent models and results that are almost uniformly positive; independent reviewers explicitly call for replication, and the one independent head-to-head study found BPC-157's totals did not reach statistical significance 29,11. (4) FDA states that immunogenicity has not been assessed for certain routes, that peptide-related impurities and API characterization are unresolved for compounded BPC-157, and that it lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm in humans 34. (5) There is no validated human dose, no human PK profile, no pharmaceutical-grade formulation, and no quality standard for the gray-market vials actually sold; contamination and mislabeling are live risks 32,30. (6) A short plasma half-life against long-lasting reported effects is an unexplained pharmacological disconnect 32. Everything on this site should be read with those six gaps in mind.
Choosing a form and alternatives
This is an education-only summary of what the evidence does and does not support, by species. It is not medical advice and not a recommendation to use a research compound.
Has BPC-157 improved tendon, ligament, or muscle repair?
Evidence: Yes in rats and rabbits, repeatedly, from one main group plus a 2026 independent study where its effect did not reach significance on total scores
Species basis: rat, rabbit
Still missing: Any published randomized human trial (first one recruiting since 2026)
Has BPC-157 helped gut conditions?
Evidence: Yes in rodent colitis, NSAID-injury, and fistula models, including one independent 1995 industry study
Species basis: rat
Still missing: Published human results; the developer's IBD trials were never published
Do we know what it does in a human body over time?
Evidence: No. PK is characterized in rats and dogs only; one 2-subject human IV pilot
Species basis: rat and dog
Still missing: Human PK, dosing, exposure and safety data
Is there an established human dose?
Evidence: No. Rodent regimens (10 ug/kg or 10 ng/kg daily) are the only systematic dosing data
Species basis: rat
Still missing: Human dose-finding of any kind
Can a tested athlete use it?
Evidence: No. Named under WADA S0, prohibited at all times
Species basis: regulatory
Still missing: Nothing; the rule is unambiguous
Is the product in a gray-market vial what the label says?
Evidence: Unverifiable. No pharmaceutical formulation, no quality standard; FDA flags impurity and characterization problems
Species basis: regulatory
Still missing: Any regulated quality assurance
Considerations
- If you are a competing athlete, this compound is prohibited at all times under WADA S0.
- If you are reading vendor claims, check the species: nearly everything cited traces to rats.
- Discuss any planned use with a licensed clinician; this site does not provide medical advice and sells nothing.
Comparisons
| Dimension | Bpc157 | Tb500 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Synthetic 15-amino-acid fragment of the gastric juice protein BPC (GEPPPGKPADDAGLV) | Synthetic fragment of thymosin beta-4; FDA lists it as Thymosin beta-4, fragment (LKKTETQ), also known as TB-500 | source |
| Species of evidence | Rodent and rabbit models across many organ systems; 2 in vitro lines; 1 uncontrolled human case series; 0 published human RCTs | Preclinical wound models; FDA states it has not identified any human exposure data for the fragment | source |
| Head-to-head data | One 2026 rat Achilles study (n=32): numerically better histology than control, not statistically significant on total scores | Same study: significant on maximum load to failure and histology scores (p<0.05); combining both peptides added nothing | source |
| Human trials | 3 small uncontrolled pilots (<30 subjects); phase 2 hamstring RCT recruiting since 2026 | None identified for the TB-500 fragment; full-length thymosin beta-4 is a distinct, larger molecule and its research does not transfer | source |
| FDA approval | None; Drugs@FDA returns no product | None; Drugs@FDA returns no product | source |
| FDA compounding position | On the safety-risks list (immunogenicity, impurities); July 2026 PCAC: FDA proposed NOT to include free base or acetate on the 503A list | On the same safety-risks list (immunogenicity, aggregation); July 2026 PCAC: FDA proposed NOT to include free base or acetate | source |
| WADA 2026 status | Named under S0 Non-Approved Substances; prohibited at all times | Named under S2 (Thymosin-beta4 and its derivatives e.g. TB-500); prohibited at all times | source |
| Best-documented property | Reported gastric-juice stability and activity by oral routes in rodent GI and ligament models | Actin-binding biology of the parent protein; the marketed fragment itself is thinly characterized | source |
Both compounds are unapproved research peptides that appear together in gray-market marketing. The differences below are documented; most marketed differences are not. We run a sister reference site on TB-500 at tb500co.com; the comparison here cites primary sources only.
Frequently asked questions
Twelve questions, answered in 320 characters or fewer, every answer consistent with the graded evidence table above.
What is BPC-157?
A synthetic chain of 15 amino acids copying part of a protein reported in human gastric juice, first described in 1993. It is studied mostly in rats for tissue repair. It is not an approved medicine anywhere; it is sold as a research chemical.
Is BPC-157 FDA approved?
No. BPC-157 is not FDA approved. It is sold for research use; no human efficacy has been established. FDA's drug database lists no BPC-157 product, and FDA has flagged immunogenicity and impurity concerns for compounded versions.
What did FDA decide in July 2026?
FDA's compounding advisory committee reviewed BPC-157 (nominated for ulcerative colitis) on July 23, 2026. FDA's briefing proposed that neither BPC-157 free base nor its acetate be added to the 503A compounding list. The advice is non-binding; rulemaking is pending.
Does BPC-157 work in humans?
Unknown. Published human evidence totals three small uncontrolled pilot studies, under 30 subjects combined. No randomized controlled trial has been published for any use. The first one, a 120-person phase 2 hamstring-strain trial, began recruiting in 2026.
Are there any human studies at all?
Three uncontrolled pilots: a 16-person retrospective knee-pain injection series (11 of 12 BPC-only patients reported improvement, no controls), an interstitial cystitis pilot, and a 2-subject IV safety and PK pilot. Registry-only records exist for a phase 1 and a gummy study.
Is BPC-157 banned in sports?
Yes. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List names BPC-157 under S0 Non-Approved Substances, prohibited at all times, in and out of competition. USADA states the same. Claims that it dropped off the list are wrong; the current list names it.
Why is it called the wolverine peptide?
A marketing nickname referencing rapid recovery in rodent injury studies. The animal findings are real; the nickname's leap to humans is not supported, because no published randomized human trial exists for any indication.
Injectable or oral: which did studies use?
Both, in animals. Musculoskeletal rat studies mostly injected it intraperitoneally; ligament and gut models also responded to drinking-water dosing. It is described as stable in gastric juice, but human oral absorption has never been measured for either route.
What dose was used in research?
Rodent studies typically used 10 micrograms or 10 nanograms per kg body weight daily, often intraperitoneal; the rabbit bone study used 10 ug/kg. There is no established human dose: no human dose-finding study has ever been published.
Is BPC-157 safe?
Nobody knows for humans. Animal reports describe no observed toxicity, and the small pilots reported no adverse events, but FDA states immunogenicity is unassessed, impurity risks exist in compounded versions, and there is no clinical safety dataset. Unregulated sourcing adds contamination risk.
Where does BPC-157 come from?
It is made synthetically. The sequence copies a 15-amino-acid fragment of BPC, a protein reported in human gastric juice and first characterized in 1993. Development codes for the same molecule include PL 14736, PL-10, PLD-116, Bepecin, and PCO-02.
Did BPC-157 ever reach clinical trials?
Partly. Its developer ran early trials for inflammatory bowel disease and reviews describe phase II testing, but no results were ever published, and a 2026 independent review found no completed phase II trial. A 2015 phase 1 registration now shows status unknown.
References and citation manifest
Every reference below was fetched and verified against its source on 2026-08-13/14: PubMed records via the NCBI E-utilities API, FDA pages and the July 2026 PCAC briefing document retrieved directly from fda.gov, the 2026 WADA Prohibited List PDF retrieved from wada-ama.org, trial records from the ClinicalTrials.gov v2 API, and chemical identity from PubChem. Study titles are reproduced verbatim. A machine-readable version of this list ships as the citation manifest for this page.
44 numbered sources, each fetch-verified
- Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 accelerates healing of transected rat Achilles tendon and in vitro stimulates tendocytes growth.
- Achilles detachment in rat and stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157: Promoted tendon-to-bone healing and opposed corticosteroid aggravation.
- Modulation of early functional recovery of Achilles tendon to bone unit after transection by BPC 157 and methylprednisolone.
- The promoting effect of pentadecapeptide BPC 157 on tendon healing involves tendon outgrowth, cell survival, and cell migration.
- Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 enhances the growth hormone receptor expression in tendon fibroblasts. [PubMed]
- Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 (PL 14736) improves ligament healing in the rat.
- Effective therapy of transected quadriceps muscle in rat: Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157.
- Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 as an effective therapy for muscle crush injury in the rat.
- Impact of pentadecapeptide BPC 157 on muscle healing impaired by systemic corticosteroid application.
- Osteogenic effect of a gastric pentadecapeptide, BPC-157, on the healing of segmental bone defect in rabbits: a comparison with bone marrow and autologous cortical bone implantation.
- Effects of BPC-157 and TB-500 on Achilles tendon healing in rats: A histopathological and biomechanical study.
- BPC-15 reduces trinitrobenzene sulfonic acid-induced colonic damage in rats.
- Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 positively affects both non-steroidal anti-inflammatory agent-induced gastrointestinal lesions and adjuvant arthritis in rats.
- Corticosteroid-impairment of healing and gastric pentadecapeptide BPC-157 creams in burned mice.
- Accelerated healing of excisional skin wounds by PL 14736 in alloxan-hyperglycemic rats.
- Traumatic brain injury in mice and pentadecapeptide BPC 157 effect.
- Stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 can improve the healing course of spinal cord injury and lead to functional recovery in rats. [PubMed]
- Peptide therapy with pentadecapeptide BPC 157 in traumatic nerve injury.
- Perforating corneal injury in rat and pentadecapeptide BPC 157.
- Therapeutic potential of pro-angiogenic BPC157 is associated with VEGFR2 activation and up-regulation.
- Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 reduces bleeding time and thrombocytopenia after amputation in rats treated with heparin, warfarin or aspirin.
- Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of body-protective compound 157, a potential drug for treating various wounds, in rats and dogs. [PubMed]
- Intra-Articular Injection of BPC 157 for Multiple Types of Knee Pain.
- A new gastric juice peptide, BPC. An overview of the stomach-stress-organoprotection hypothesis and beneficial effects of BPC.
- Focus on ulcerative colitis: stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157.
- Toxicity by NSAIDs. Counteraction by stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157.
- Stable Gastric Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 and Wound Healing. [PubMed]
- BPC 157 and Standard Angiogenic Growth Factors. Gastrointestinal Tract Healing, Lessons from Tendon, Ligament, Muscle and Bone Healing.
- Gastric pentadecapeptide body protection compound BPC 157 and its role in accelerating musculoskeletal soft tissue healing.
- Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: A Systematic Review. [PubMed]
- Regeneration or Risk? A Narrative Review of BPC-157 for Musculoskeletal Healing. [PubMed]
- BPC-157 as an Investigational Peptide Therapeutic: Biopharmaceutical Challenges, Formulation Strategies, and Translational Development Barriers. [PubMed]
- From Regeneration to Analgesia: The Role of BPC-157 in Tissue Repair and Pain Management. [PubMed]
- Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding That May Present Significant Safety Risks (FDA, Human Drug Compounding)
- July 23-24, 2026: Meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (FDA Advisory Committee Calendar)
- FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 (503A Bulks List: BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, Emideltide, Epitalon, Semax)
- Drugs@FDA (FDA approved-drug database): no product containing BPC-157 exists (openFDA API verification query returns NOT_FOUND)
- Drugs@FDA search (FDA approved-drug database): no product containing thymosin beta-4 / TB-500 exists (openFDA API verification query returns NOT_FOUND)
- PubChem Compound Summary CID 9941957 (BPC-157): formula C62H98N16O22, molecular weight 1419.5, CAS 137525-51-0
- A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Phase 2 Trial of Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 for Accelerated Repair of Acute Grade II Hamstring Strain Confirmed by MRI (NCT07437547; recruiting; target n=120)
- Phase I, Pilot Study in Healthy Volunteers, to Assess the Safety and Pharmacokinetics of PCO-02, Which Active Ingredient is BPC-157 (NCT02637284; status unknown; n=42; no results posted)
- A Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Effects of Peptide Gummies on Markers of Inflammation, Physical Performance, and Recovery (NCT07752381; single-arm; BPC-157 500 ug per serving; completed; no results posted)
- World Anti-Doping Agency: The 2026 Prohibited List (S0 Non-Approved Substances names BPC-157; S2 names Thymosin-beta4 and its derivatives e.g. TB-500)
- USADA: BPC-157 and Other Peptides: Experimental Substances Creating Risk for Athletes (BPC-157 is prohibited under the S0 Non-Approved Substances category)
Machine-readable citations for this page: Evidence manifest (JSON)